Travel blog 005-headed Home

Standard

imageI’m trying to remember that the journey home is part of the adventure. I’m so looking forward to the familiar faces and sights of southwest Virginia and feeling a bit sad at leaving our northwest temporary home. It helps that someone has been playing the saxophone for the last 12 hours outside our hotel window. Losing those 3 hours we kept in a savings account from our trip over will be pretty painful. Not too excited about a two hour layover in Philly.

 But what do I take with me, aside from the bulging suitcase of coffee, t-shirts, chocolate pasta and decorative mugs? Obviously I have four invaluable days of bonding with my 13 year-old daughter and a realization that we are pretty good travel companions.  I take an appreciation for the subtle although perceptible differences in southeast and northwest urban culture. Like muscle memory, I get smell memory from patchouli and curry, to ganja and rain and an increased consciousness of what I consider trash. I take a desire to return when possible.  From most of the people I talked to while here, I get the idea that they think Seattle is a nice place to visit and a dreary place to live. Not they they don’t love it, they just miss the sunshine. Finally, likeDorothy, I get the beautiful perspective that there is no place like home.
Leave a Reply

